Rep. Stinziano Recognized as Legislator of the Year by the Ohio Association of Election Officials

COLUMBUS, Ohio – On Thursday, January 26th, State Representative Michael Stinziano was recognized by the Ohio Association of Election Officials (OAEO) as its Legislator of the Year.

“I am honored and humbled to be chosen as the Ohio Association of Election Officials Legislator of the Year” said Stinziano, former Director of the Franklin County Board of Elections. “During my first year in the General Assembly, I have worked across the aisle to address serious issues facing our community and our state. I am committed to continuing to work across partisan lines to make Ohio the best place in the country to live, work, and raise a family,” Stinziano said.

“Rep. Stinziano stands out as a committed and hardworking legislator who exemplifies the qualities that we, the OAEO, value most: a willingness to work across the aisle to address Ohio’s problems. Nothing highlights Rep. Stinziano’s commitment more than his work on HB 224 that improved voting access for our men and women serving in the military and overseas voters,” said Aaron Ockerman, Executive Director of the OAEO.

Rep. Stinziano sponsored HB 224 with Rep. Mike Dovilla (R– Berea) in 2011. HB 224 removed legal obstacles allowing military and overseas voters greater accessibility to participate in voting. HB 224 passed both the House and Senate with unanimous votes and was signed into law by Governor Kasich on July 27th, 2011.

The Ohio Association of Election Officials, a bipartisan organization representing the members and employees of Ohio’s county boards of elections, their directors, and deputy directors, is a professional organization dedicated to the training and education of its members.